HybridZ

I get to work on a REAL AC Cobra engine!!!

zguy95135

well, I get to polish the valve covers, and am getting paid. The story behind it is that my uncle's friend was rebuilding an old flatbottom race boat, and when he tok the engine out to get it rebuilt, the mechanic saw that it was from a AC Cobra. Its a real engine, and has all the vins, and Carroll Shelby is actually building him a replica for him (hes getting paid of course). Its one of those exact replica's, and costs $50,000. Wow :shock: , just getting to work with this stuff is a reward in itself :D

pics of the parts soon

I know what you mean. I worked as a chassis fabricator at Shelby American in Las Vegas a few years ago. Coolest job ever, infact, the only job I've ever had that I looked forward to going to every day. Lots of history in those cars, even the brand new replicas they are making. Too bad the Series 1 cars are almost bankrupting the company :cry:

Mike

I love those things. My brother and I own an auto shop, and we have decided to put together Cobra replicas as a way to keep the techs occupied when things are slow. I can't believe how much even replicas are selling for if well built. We're putting 351's in them (they're nasty enough, I don't want some middle aged dude to get killed in them) unless someone wants a real fire breather. Of course, we'll have to break in the engines by driving for 1000 miles or so. I can't wait-better make that 2000 miles.

Guest bastaad525
Cobras are GRRRRReat!!!

I always wanted one but built a Z instead. Money was an issue at the time' date=' now however I'm starting to "think" about it again.

ds[/quote']

Average money spent on a Factory Five Racing Cobra kit, if you stick to the stock Mustang 5.0 running gear: $18,000-20,000

Money I've spent on making my Z a fast well handling car so far (a goal which, by the way, has not even yet been fully realized): about $15,000