HybridZ

lsd woes

PUSHER

Sob story: About a month ago i took apart my rear end, I then tried to order an lsd for it. I first tried for a powerbrute lsd, but they have stopped making r200 10mm lsds. I then tried a nismo r200 10mm lsd from raretrick and courtesy nissan, they discontinued those. Bitter about having an old car I put my open differential back in, promising myself I would sell this rustbucket and get something newer with aftermarket. When I put it all together and test drove it, I sort of realized why I put up with this crap and I intend to continue the quest of getting an lsd.

So, I have a 76 280z with an r200 diff with 10mm bolts.

What do I need to do to get an lsd?

Is my only option to get a z31 turbo diff? what axles?

Is it at all possible to put a lsd unit in my r200?

Is it possible to swap in a 240sx differential? what axles?

Id like to keep the total under 1k$ so no quaife or super swaps.

Also, im a differential noob so when you start talking about shims and backlash spacing or whatever you kinda confuse me, so go easy on the tech speak. Thank you very much.

It seems your having trouble with this differential stuff like I did when I first started. So...

Please go to this link at HowStuffWorks.com Click here This will let you know what parts are what and what they do inside of a differential.

Okay, now back to your questions:

Here, I went through this a while ago. Look here.

FYI, in that thread, I wanted to run different gears than the 3.70's that normally come with the clutch type differential. This is what I bought:

-R200 (3.54) from a '78 280Z ($80)

-Clutch type carrier from a '87-'89 300ZX ($350? I can't remember)

The R200 that we both have has 10mm ring gear bolts and sleeves have to be made to make the clutch type carrier fit the ring gear.

This is just what I did. You can also get a R200 out of a later Z that has the 12mm ring gear bolts to make things easier on you. I also upgraded to CV's while I was at it.