HybridZ

What to do???

Guest nitroexpress65

Guest nitroexpress65

I just purchased a 78 280 for $300 w/ no engine or tranny. Every thing else is perfect. I need some advice on which engine tranny to use. I want a stick and 8 cyls intrigue the heck out of me in this car. Had a 260 many moons ago and am looking to blow the doors off some of the little fast and furious kiddies in the neighborhood.

Guest nitroexpress65

I would like to seewhat i could do for 3-5k. i work in the auto rv industry so i get parts and labor at cost, which is 25-35% less than what guys pay over the counter.

...am looking to blow the doors off some of the little fast and furious kiddies in the neighborhood.

So are many of us...heheh

280Z has thicker sheetmetal so you can swap a V8 in there without serious chassis stiffening.

3K~5K....try looking into doing a LS1 swap.

A lot of good info can be accessed to through the search function.

Also buy a copy of THE bible : The Datsun V8 swap manual from this site

http://www.jagsthatrun.com/Pages/Datsun_Z_V-8.html

Guest coolmesser

I am in the middle of it now also. For 3-5k I wouldn't go the LS1 route because you would (so I have seen) go over budget. Of course some around here may have been able to slide under - but I just don't see it.

If you got the Z in Portland you need to do some serious inspecting for rust in the front before sinking that money into it.