HybridZ

280z Rear Quarter Panel??

RedFive

Hey guys, I'm new to this forum. I've been reading posts here now and then, but I never registered.

Anyways, I've been looking high and low for a left rear quarter panel section so I can weld it in to fix the dent in my '76 280z. I've looked on ebay, other z websites, classifieds, etc, etc. Nothing. The Z junkyard obviously has one they want to sell me, but I'm a college student and I'd rather buy it from someone who has less overhead than a junkyard (i.e. somebody who doesn't want a bazillion dollars -- if you can imagine that being a number).

Anyways, here's a photo of what the po did to it. He said it was a blowout. :neutral:

280zdent.jpg

Basically I would need a piece cut from the bottom up to the side marker light and from the rear corner forward to the back side of the wheel well, if that makes sense.

Also, I don't want to just weld random sheet metal in there, I want to do it right, not mickey mouse. And no, the 10 inch patch panel that people make isn't big enough. At an undisclosed z forum, people kept suggesting I do all these different things, and all I want to do is replace it with what used to be there.

Also, if you guys have any suggestions on how to go about this, I'd most appreciate it. But first, I have to find the metal!

Thanks in advance!

Logan

The junkyard down in Phoenix quoted me $125 without shipping. Now i'd either have to have them ship it up here to Northern AZ or spend and hour or so driving down there. So less than that. Somebody else offered it to me for free if I'd pay shipping, but turned out he only had the right side. Another guy wanted $50 bucks, but he said somebody came and bought it. So...you know...what are you offering?

And how about rust and condition of the piece? Is it A-okay?