HybridZ

Welding Class Selection Help

tfreer85

Okay, I'm looking at taking a welding class at my local Junior College. However, I'm a pretty big newb when it comes down to welding and wanted your guys' opinion on what class you think I should take. My goal is to be able to weld motor mounts, intakes, exhaust systems (manifolds, down-pipes, etc.). I know a lot of this will take practice to create quality work but your opinions would be appreciated:

32261 WELD B1AB - Intro to the Welding Processes

Recommended: Reading Level 5 or 6. Description: Properties and characteristics of metals and a survey of metal welding processes. Safety, theory, and practical experience in oxy-acetylene welding and cutting, shielded metal arc, PAC, MIG, TIG, submerged ARC, resistance welding and joint design, codes and weld testing.

32263 WELD B53B - Shielded Metal Arc Welding

Recommended: Reading Level 5 or 6. Description: Basic arc welding theory and manipulative skills related to the shielded metal are welding process, including welding in all positions with various electrodes.

32270 WELD B74A - TIG and MIG Welding

Recommended: WELD B1A or WELD B53A or one year work experience as a welder. Description: Theory and application of TIG, MIG Fluxcore, and Submerged welding processes. Emphasizes safe and proper operation of these welding processes while welding on mild steel, aluminum, and stainless steel.

WELD B90 - General Welding

Description: Entry-level welding skill development in modern welding and cutting processes, theory and practice. Note: For registration information contact the Applied Science and Technology Department at 395-4285. Students cannot register by telephone or the web for this section.

Thanks again,

Tyson