HybridZ

280Z stereo upgrade. Could use some input.

nienberg.11

Hey guys, I need some input on my upcoming speaker install. My 280z is going to be my daily driver throughout this spring and summer, and most of fall, and I'm figuring on putting a decent sound system in it so I don't go into withdrawal after driving my Avenger with its nice stock system. Long trips w/ no Rammstein make me very grumpy :(. Anyways, I'm a student and while at school I live in a very bad neighborhood, so a flashy deck and large visible speakers are sure to get stolen. That's why I'm planning on keeping this crappy deck:

deck.jpg

It's pretty lame, but it works and has an input jack on it, so I can directly connect an mp3 player into it, and take that out of the car while it's parked so there's nothing good to steal in sight.

Currently, the car has the 2 stock speakers as well as 2 small speakers in its doors. For reasons unknown to me at the moment, I can turn the volume all the way up on my deck and it's just barely loud enough to hear over any road noise. Also, the sound quality from the stock speakers sucks, so I have to get rid of them.

Here is what I plan on doing with the speakers. I plan on sinking two subs just below the floor of my rear deck surface and putting some metal mesh over them to avoid damage from things being dropped over them, like this:

reardeck.jpg

As for the stock speakers, I would like to use this location to hide yet another midrange? set of speakers, much like the ones in the doors of my Avenger, but smaller.

mid.jpg

I would also like to keep the speakers in my doors and use them as tweeters.

door.jpg