HybridZ

5.0L rear sump for cross member clearance

s3079893

Hi,

I was just wondering which sump works with the 5.0L swap. My sump is currently a forward sump and just looking at it theres no way i can fit it above the crossmember. I have seen rear sumps on the net but if i get one of them can i use my stock oil pump? The oil pump seems to stick out quite a bit and it's probably going to end up right above the cross member

Any Thoughts?

Cheers

I have a 1989 5.0L in my 260Z, and I have been driving it for over five years. The 1989 uses the rear sump type pan. In order to squeeze the engine in to the stock chassis, I had to do a couple of things:

First, I moved the oil plug for the front sump from the front corner to the bottom. This gave me ~1/2" additional clearance, and made it possible to remove the drain plug from the front sump.

Second, I put a 3/16" plate between the front crossmember and the frame. This created some more clearance.

Third, I slightly notched the driver's side of the hood latch to clear the curve of the EFI intake.

Fourth (this is important), I installed the engine at a 2.5 degree angle. This required me to adjust the angle of the differential to match. I raised the rear of the differential by removing the washers above the mustache bar.

Since the original installation, I have wrecked the car and replaced the front end with a tubular chassis, but the engine is still in the same location (though now mounted using a front plate/mid-plate set-up).

Here are some pictures that show the relationship of the harmonic balancer / pan to the steering rack/crossmember.

PICT0009.JPG

PICT00081.JPG

PICT0010.JPG

Hey guys, I finally got my 88 5.0L Mustang engine in the Z last weekend and took some pics to show the sump/cross member clearance...