HybridZ

my s30 drawings...

OlderThanMe

Kind of looks like 2+2...I dig those bumblebee stripes you've got going on in the back there too. Not too shabby for untrained, are you looking for back patting, or some pointers? I have a bachelor's degree in studio art, so if you want some help I could offer some tips, but if not, that's cool too. I say DON'T put the pencil down, it's the only way to get better, but you also might try looking at a z while drawing it until you get a handle on the details...

thanks! I have done a few Zs but they all looked weird because I could not get the roof anywhere near close. these two are much better. I started by tracing pics of Zs and have tried a few freehand with no aids but those were pitiful...and the posted pic looks too chopped...I did both of these riding in a car on teh highway...I have since fixed the bulged roof of the top pic and made the quarter window look much better.

I am starting college this fall so I won't be wrenching on the Z at all but will be able to do more drawings of what my Z will become.

w40354152.jpg

I think the first thing I notice about this that could use improving is the perspective on the nose/hood/passenger side a-pillar relationship. You are only going to be able to see some of those features from any given angle, and the natural impulse is to draw it in. The way you have it shown there, the headlight farthest from our viewing perspective should not extend out as far as it does. Bringing it back a little bit would go a long way towards cleaning up the front end, as a point of reference, that line down the center of the hood should mark the point where the other side of the car should be angling back, if you look at it from the top if forms a mild / shape (but it doesn't reference the sacred feminine in this case).