HybridZ

Clutch Review - ACT Stage II heavy duty pressure plate and Organic street clut

proxlamus©

I figured I would write a quick review for those interested in upgrading their clutch on their Z ..

Now by all means, I am a terrible terrible writer, so bear with me..

First off I started worrying about the clutch once I upgraded my N/A engine, and bolted on a turbo and some beefy injectors. I noticed heavy slippage around 10psi and it just got worse over time, so I knew I had to upgrade. Running the stock OEM clutch on a 225mm was not fun.

I found a cheap 240mm flywheel, and chose to get one of the best...

an ACT Stage II heavy duty pressure plate rated to handle 500ft/lb and a ACT organic street clutch. I chose the sprung organic street clutch because I drive nearly 40 miles a day in my Z so I needed something driveable.

The swap went rather pleasant, I noticed EXEDY was stamped on the pressure plate and clutch disc, but I guess ACT installs firmer springs in the units or something.

Upon startup the clutch was much stiffer than stock but nothing too bad... this clutch chatters ALOT especially with this heavy duty pressure plate. After about 600 miles of break in I could actually see how this clutch engaged..

this clutch performs like a performance clutch should (especially for $450) and made very very firm engagements.. took time to get use to slipping the clutch a little.

After 3,000 miles I noticed the clutch was VERY hard to shift into 1st at a stop, and engaging in reverse was hell. Why is this? Well the metal fingers on the pressure plate began to break in, and I needed a longer pedal throw to full disengage the clutch.

I chose to upgrade to a Nissan Pathfinder 1988, 11/16 slave cylinder, as this unit is much smaller than the stock slave cylinder. Having a smaller cylinder will give you a much longer throw. Only downside is a firmer pedal.

Installed it in 15 minutes and everything was great! and for $16 ? you can't beat that!