HybridZ

Ignition Problem? - Movie, MSQ, & Datalog Inside

trwebb26

I've been fighting my megasquirt for a couple of months now. I just can't figure out what is going on.

About my setup:

78' 280z

MS v3.0 board

MS&SE

83' turbo optical dizzy

Using (-)D14 to trigger an MSD6a to an MSD blaster 2 coil.

As you'll see in the video - everything runs great when I first start the car. Then the timing will go to hell. It seems to be heat related somehow.

Here is the movie:

EDIT:

http://www.fileden.com/files/2006/8/28/191641/Megasquirt_problem_small.wmvFree file hosting from File Den!

Here is my MSQ (remove the .txt from the file name)

http://www.geocities.com/trwebb26/280z_problems.msq.txt

And here is a datalog of a similar time that this happend. You can see that it is fine at the beginning - then the MAP will change, but the RPMS stay put.

http://www.geocities.com/trwebb26/datalog200608271842.xls

The tach signal for the guage in the video comes out of the MSD box. I took video of it to show that the problem is either in the megasquirt or the MSD. I think that is pretty sure-fire evidence that the coil is not at fault.

I've kind of run out of things to try... The only things I can think of are to send my megasquirt back to have it looked at - or replace my MSD box. Please help!

Does it do it if you DON'T snap-throttle rev it?

I had an issue with my timing offset and the high-map bins where on drop-throttle when the vacuum went high in the manifold, the spark would jump to the next terminal in sequence, and then STAY THERE until I shut the engine off and reset the box by turning the key of and back on.

Underboost, I was cool, no drop throttle from boost above 2500rpms, I was cool, but hit any of those 40degree advance bins, and Braaap,Bang,Pop,Poof, BANG!

Try taking all your high-vacuum bins to 30 degrees and see if it stops going nuts after you rev it. You may be jumping time one terminal ahead like I was doing!

My WAG! LOL

Good Luck