HybridZ

Padding electrical current: Theory 101

Slow_Old_Car

Alright, so megasquirt is a huge hit, it's run by thousands of people on dozens of makes worldwide...

Alot of us run it, and it works well, we love the adjustability, etc...

What i'm wondering about now, is durability. The production side of the community has addressed this with MS-II v3.0 with it's upgraded circutry for being more rugged in the automotive world. But what can we as end users do?

I'm no electrician, but i've been kicking around the idea of ways to buffer or clean the power that feeds the boxes, add in layers of protection beyond a simple inline fuse.

Figured a few of the more electrically savvy people here have probally done somthing to this effect and i'm just not using the right verbage to describe what i'm thinking. Basically devices to handle power surges and/or help smooth the power flow to a MS box.

Whats the name of the item i'm looking for here? I'm getting to a point that i want to be able to do stints in my car that could range hundreds of miles (SEZ9 for example). But i want to build in some protection that is more-so than just carrying a entire spare MSnS setup.

In my case:

MS2.2 v3.0, 029q2 file set on MT 2.25b, mapdaddy 4-bar, 440cc supras, resistor pack.

I've been running a V2.2 board in a road racer for over three years now, and it's been very reliable. There really isn't much you need to do as far as additional filtering or surge protection. If you use a relay board, it is already protected with fuses. You can replace the fuses with circuit breakers that automatically reset. They make them that are a drop in replacement for the fuses on the relay board. If you are not using the relay board, just replace your fuses with auto circuit breakers.

I have used a car stereo filter on my Dodge Dart, which has an incredibly noisy electrical system. While the noise doesn't seem to do any physical damage, the filter cut down on resets very well.