HybridZ

s30 z alarm system

BurnoutZ

I have a CAM201 (car audio masters) alarm unit fitted in my car, Im sure you could find a similar unit over stateside.

Its a 2 point immobiliser alarm and it interfaces directly with the central locking solenoids in each door, and will control a boot popper, that in itself was a bit of a pain to do, as i had to pretty much redesign and rebuild the boot latch assembly with parts form a different car, so i could delete the boot lock, and have the cable and latch on the rear tail light panel, instead of the hatch.

i can either pop the boot with a button in the glovebox, or with the second button on the remote.

the boot hatch switch was a bit of a pain though, had to fab up a small contact switch to work with it, there isnt really anywhere in the rear hatch to mount a pin switch without creating leaks or a potential rust spot, and zed's have enough of those.:evil:

The alarm siren itself is a battery backup unit, with built in shock sensor, mounted in the plenum chamber under the windscreen, for maximum noise.

there is a glass break sensor inside the cabin, and its interfaced into the standard door pin wiring, with a built in courtesy light dimmer and timer.

the whole thing cost me about $220 aus. so in the grand scheme of alarms, a bit over entry level looking at the decent systems.

I can add in a power window lifter module if i want too.

it also has several programmable functions, like auto arming, or silent arm/disarm ect ect.

It keeps the indicators on for 15 seconds after arming or disarming for added illumination in dark areas.

Installation was pretty easy, all the wires are marked with little tabs, but once you have wired it all, and removed the tabs, its a full black wire setup.

took me the better part of a day to do it. the central locking was a bit of a pain, as there is next to no room at all under the door skins, without fouling on the window lifter mechanism.