HybridZ

Rebuilding a transmission...

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Welp, it apperes as if I will be using the '74 Nova motor that's in the Camaro after all because the Impala motor needs the same done to it, but it's just not as bad yet...but it IS getting there, which means I have $200 to spend on rebuilding it, which means I also have a bad Turbo 350 that I am told needs rebuilt. Anywho, here is my question. Since this transmission needs rebuilt BAD, it doesn't work (obviously). Could any of you give me a general idea of what is involved in rebuilding a transmission? Would it just be cheaper and more worth my while to buy an already working transmission from someone? Excuse me if this is a really stupid question, but I'm not very experienced with this kinda stuff, and you guys are the first ones that came to mind when I was thinking of someone to ask.

Take the plunge now and get an overdrive tranny. I picked my 2004R up at a JY for $50. It needs to be rebuilt 'cause it slips a little, but if you are going to rebuild anyway.....

The 2004R is the same dimensions as the TH350, except the mounting is further back (ala TH400). Otherwise if you can find one, get a 700R4, from the newest car possible. Around here they are pretty scarce because all the taxis and hotrod guys snatch them up quickly.

Tim

it all depends on what you are using it for,

i like the 350 and 400 trans for some all out street racing type stuff, they are seriously cheap, and geared well, the overdrive is always nice though, i run a muncie fourspeed and i love it, bearly any freeway use for me though, that long first gear, gotta love it...

if you building a freeway commuter, overdrive is best,

Leonard

muncie baby, muncie

Since you posted a picture of you wearing a Slayer T-shirt, I feel I must respond icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

Anyway,