HybridZ

Advice on buying a used Z car

Ok guys, Ive always wanted an old Datsun Z car. Last year I had the extra cash to buy one, but got a sport bike instead. Now once again I can pick one up and I have found one that is peaking my interest. Its a 1978 280z, fuel injected model I believe. Has 150k on it. It is out of state and I would probably have to have it shipped. The guy has sent me around 10 pictures, even of the bottom side, no real rust issues except for the rocker panels are starting to bubble the paint. Car over all looks pretty clean. My question is, are there any pictures of key areas I should ask for? Any questions about key mechanical issues that are prone to fail(he already told me it may need a new brake master cylinder)? I tried searching for common issues with these cars or what to look for when buying used ones but found nothing. Im new to the Z car game so any help from your veterans would be much appreciated. Thanks guys,

check out this website it should help alot

http://www.zhome.com/

Thank you 240z!!! you are a new member and i think you get it. This site is not for "What to look for when buying a car" or "how to change a alternator belt" Its about performance and modification. not about regular maintence.

Im not trying to be mean to the Origional poster but this site has seen alot of posts lately from first time people asking stuff that should be learned else ware before coming here. Sites that are great at this are

www.zhome.com

www.zcar.com

among alot of other sites.

So I guess when people post up a question asking why something is not working right on there car, or why it is making this funny noise, those are all bad/not needed posts?

According to the rules it says this site is "to discuss TECHNICAL topics that pertain to the modification" So only posts about modifying the cars are allowed? Not posts about how to buy a decent car in the first place or how to keep it running and operating properly?