HybridZ

T04B15 Question

zbigtim

I aquired this turbo on ebay last week, not knowing what I was really bidding on. Supprising to me, I won it pretty cheep, which makes me a little worried. The unit has been installed and slightly used, but the shaft turns freely without any end play.

The Tag shows 409250-2005s, which also translates to a Garrett T04B15. When I google these numbers I don't find a whole lot of good information. I have come to the conclusion that the exhaust housing will not work. It does not match up to the exhaust manifold. I also believe that the exhaust housing is too large for a street L28.

today001.jpg

today002.jpg

today003.jpg

today004.jpg

Can anyone tell me what I really have?

Coments are welcome...

Tim.

Thank you letitsnow, thats some awsome info.

Forgive me, I'm new to the turbo stuff, does the "s" in the part number 409250-5002s mean that the compressor is the "S" trim?

I will be disassembling the compressor to measure this weekend, as you suggested.

Who would be a good source for the exhaust housing and wheel?

Tim.

I can't speak for any of the vendors here personally as I haven't bought from them, but I'm sure they would be a good place to start.

There's a chance that's what the S on the end of the part number means, but I highly doubt it.

Here is a link that has dimensions of many common compressor wheels.

Why not use an adapter plate to run it as is rather than turning it into a t3/t4 hybrid?

If it has the correct size turbine housing then that could work, but it probably has a huge hotside. The T04b-25 that I have has a 1.32a/r housing with a p-trim wheel, WAY too big for an l28.

Well, I took the turbo apart and here is what I found:

The compressor side dimensions,

The outside diameter of the compressor wheel is 2 3/4".

DSCN0055.jpg

The inlet diameter (2 3/4" OD - 2 3/8" ID which cones down to 1 3/4")

DSCN0057.jpg

The outlet diameter (2" OD)

DSCN0059.jpg