HybridZ

240 tach pegs

Ok here we go , i have been searching for a few months but with no answers that have helped.. I have a 73 240 pretty much stock and the tach just pegs when i turn the key on. I have spent many hours cleaning grounds and checking all the connecters but nothing has helped. Is the tach just no good or have i missed something? It has no after market ignition parts. Thanks for the help

No i have not. i was going to pull the tach out of the dash but was turning into a pain, but if that is what needs to be done i will do it. Do you know what the inputs should read or how i can get that info? I have been chasing the diagrahm for weeks

Thanks jasper for the help , i have been searching on this site for a few months, i didnt want to get in trouble from the higher ups... i have been using the Haynes book to do the wire chasing, also printed off a copy of the auto zone diagram . I am thinking i am just missing something easy. But i am new to this car so im not sure. I know the tach triggers off of the positive side of the coil unlike most cars. thanks again for any help

I have the same problem in my 260, when I turn the key it will go to redline, and I think that only thing thats stopping it is the pin, but sometimes it will back off of the needle and settle at 7000 and then sometimes it does nothing, so im pretty sure that its just a bad tach

yep mine will back off a little to about the 7 grad mark when the battery gets a bit weak. today i fixed the temp guage and was slapping the gas peddle a few times and when i shut it off the tach stuck on the peg for a second or two. Its becoming entertaining.. thanks for the help

It's most likely the tach. I was adjusting mine and was too lazy to turn the engine off and killed it the same way. Luckily I had a spare.

I may try to rebuild the bad tach and if I succeed, I'll post how I did it.