HybridZ

Creak/Groan when going over bumps/dips at low speed

Hi guys,

I'm a self-admitted semi-amature who loves learning by doing. I've never done suspension work before, but one of my long term (hopefully not too long term) goals is to replace all my suspension bushings on the 1980 280ZX I have [i can see the [OEM rubber, cracking] bushings are shot in many places).

A symptom I notice is, at low speeds, when I go over a speed bump, or enter/exit a sloped driveway/parking lot entrance, I hear what can best be described as a creaking/groaning from the front. Again - I really can't tell where it comes from, but it's tied to the wheel travel over the bumps and happens every time. I've bounced the car a couple times while parked and the croners seem to rebound only a couple times - which would suggest the struts are OK?

I'm just trying to get an idea of what it could be (the bushings I already plan to replace), and if it's something that's dangerous not to replace in the short term ($$)? Perhaps the springs/shocks - is there a better way to inspect/test these than the bouncing I did?

Like I said - I learn by doing - I've already learned (the hard way):

drum brakes

disc brakes

trailing arm bushings (BMW)

clutch master cylinder

exhause manifold gasket

differential gasket replacement

and some more I'm forgetting

Looking forward to learning more along the way!

Thanks in advance

Phil

Thanks guys for the replies.

I have not noticed a difference on rainy versus dry days to be honest.

My bushings are shot - that I know from checking them - and it's on my list of projects - complete bushing set. I'm just wondering if it's anything in addition to that (springs/shocks)?

That said.. I've heard that the energy suspension complete kit (polyurethane) is a popular upgrade. Would you guys endorse it - and if so, where would I get the best deal?

Thanks!

that's funny......

I was assuming you already had a bushing kit and didn't like the squeaky's.......