HybridZ

weight distribution & FWD cars

Guest John Adkins

Guest John Adkins

Hey guys,

I've been talking to some Integra owners and they say that the Integra Type R is "one of the best handling cars in the world." But how can this be if these front-wheel drive cars have about 64%/36% front/rear weight distribution?

When I tell people how I'm gathering parts to put a V8 in my 240Z they say I will make it front-heavy and destroy its weight distribution... But I don't think I could make the weight distribution on the Z as bad as an 64%/36% FWD car (except if used a big block mounted non-setback style).

So do the laws of physics not apply to Integras?

I'm no expert with fwd's but I think the higher f/r weight ratio handling can be offset because the torque is in the front wheels keeping it from pushing. Not to say it won't push but it would be a lot worse if the same f/r ratio was in a rear drive car.

Any other input on this??

Dave Booth

------------------

www.geocities.com/kc6wfs/240z.html

Guest Anonymous

I'd say the Type 'R' guys need to calm down. The must have never driven a good handling RWD car. I don't recall the Acura being rated by anyone as 'The best handling car' (unless its like "The best handling front wheel drive car"). This is not to say the guys racing them don't have them sorted out, but stock? Gimme a break. They need to drive that rear wheel drive Honduh sports car (the S2000?) and then talk about how well they're acura handles. IMHO.

Lone

from what i've been able to gather, the type r guys are only slightly more mature than the rest of the integra guys (who are the same as the civic guys...) ok, now that i've got a sweeping stereotype in place, back to the actual question wink.gif

all else equal, a front drive car will tend to understeer, and a rear drive car will tend to oversteer.

this can be corrected for with suspension design, but in the end, here is what you have to deal with on a track or the street: