HybridZ

240Z front bumper fiberglass molds

Phlebmaster

I have been working on making 240Z front bumper fiberglass molds. I need to know a few things. I am a total newb at this so please bear with me. This may turn out to be a very good thing for those who want a fiberglass bumper. :wink:

1. What foam should I use to fill the mold with that is not too difficult to work with?

2. What do I line the mold with to keep the foam from sticking and getting wrinkles while setting up?

3. Do I need to do anything to protect the foam from the fiberglass resin?

Here is that I have so far.....

This is my first attempt, but I only had twine to wrap the molding material with so I got bumps. :(

29fscox.jpg

hvtsgl.jpg

Here is my second attempt...much better. No bumpies on the bumper. :)

idzwqf.jpg

154x8g0.jpg

Here are the two molds and my template...

2ikpj4p.jpg

Please help me with what to do next, I want to do this right.

Thanks!! :D

I have done some more reading and I think I will practice using the silicone sealant as a backing inside the mold so the foam won't stick to it.

axxu6o.jpg

I may also use this on the foam, this should keep the end fiberglass product looking as smooth as possible and should release much better than anything else.

I will try coating the mold that has the ridges first (my first attempt) to see if I can get that to work. Then go for the good one if that all works out. :D More updates to follow.

Hmmm... When i made my foam structure for my hoodscoop i glued the foam together with silicon... IDK how the fiberglass would react with it, but just gluing my foam together with it worked great, and i had no reactions that i noticed. The foam stuck to the hood good with silicon also