HybridZ

Exotic tools

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

Anyone use a Mityvac one man brake fluid changer? I am ready to buy but concerned about quality, as I have been burned before on vacuum units that just dont work. A pro mechanic loaned me an air compressor type unit that created a vacuum with compressed air which worked pretty good but I have not been able to find on on open market or catalogues. Know where I can get one? as I know they work well.

Also, anyone out there using a "torque angle meter" I own one but dont use as most torque specs are in ft/lbs or metric only. I think Ford mechanics use for higher torqued plastic engine parts.

Steve

The mityvac system is very good quality. I've owned mine for about 5 yaers and use it on a regular basis (I am a professional auto tech) the torque angle meter you asked about is for torque to yeild bolts. These are VERY different than the bolts that are torqued to a ft lb. with these bolts you are told to tighten them to a spec.torque then turn them a given number of degrees these are used as head bolt on some engines(and other applications) and can only be used ONCE then are discarded. Keith

Guest Anonymous

I've used the Mityvac too, they work good. Like to try Russel Speedbleeders sometime though, I absolutely hate bleeding brakes.

Just to point out that Mityvac's work, they use em in hospitals with a big suction cup to deliver babies instead of using forceps these days. (bigger version of the Mityvac that you see in auto part stores but it was a real Mityvac pump.)

I also saw Mityvacs being sold in an *ahem* adult store once for "enlarging" use for the amazing price of like 70 bucks. (Versus what 15 or 20 at Walmart and so forth) Think I need to look into buying and repackaging em and selling em to that sort of establishment at 350% markup to finance my Z work. :D

Anyhow, here's a vacuum pump like you were looking for.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=3952