HybridZ

Painting the inside of a pulley

Neveragain55

Please forgive this question but I have zero experience painting pulleys.

I blasted all of the external parts of my engine and I plan on painting all of the parts before I put them back on.

My question pertains to pulleys (specifically the inside “V†of the pulley where the belt resides) like the water pump pulley, power steering pulley, etc. etc.

The question is: do I paint the inside of the pulley or leave it bare?

My thought process is that if I leave the "V" section of the pulley unpainted rust will eventfully form and prematurely eat away at the metal.

If I paint the inside of the pulley, the paint will surely come completely off after the first few hundred miles and I’ll be left with bare metal again anyway.

If I paint or coat the inside of the pulley, which material and/or paint would stand up to the belt running around it.

I know, I know, but when you’ve all stopped laughing, let me know what you think or which direction I should go.

I have this aggravating way of over-thinking every little detail but it's just part of my OCD :rolleyes:

Thanks in advance gang…….

There is no way rust is gonna "prematurely wear" the pulley any appreciable amount. The belt will always be cleaning the new water deposits off anyways. I'm thinking you'd have nothing to worry about pulley-wise...unless you're planning on parking it in a salt water bath between drives...but even then are you gonna be driving the car for the next

300 years???

I was thinking about powder coating them and I happen to know someone locally that could do it for me but I think they'll be fine with just painting the outer halves.

The more I thought about it the more I realize that billseph is right. The insides of the pulleys are going to constantly be getting cleaned because of the belt.

Your suggestion is a good one however if I were building a show car and I needed all the parts and surfaces to look sharp, and it's much appreciated.