HybridZ

R200 CLSD chatter and POP! Video HELP!

RebekahsZ

I have had 2 different R200 CLSDs that I put in my 240z with LS2 power.  I did the 6-clutch mod.  The first 3.90 CLSD I shimmed to a wet 65# breakaway torque and it made an intermittent banging noise, but was otherwise great.   When I changed ratios, I built another R200 in a 3.54 case/R&P with a different CLSD carrier (out of a 3.70 CLSD); I did the 6 clutch mod, but didn't shim it resulting in 45# wet breakaway torque. The second diff made the same banging noise.  I've heard of chatter, but I didn't think the intermittent banging noise was chatter.  I have a new RT mount with a rubber bumper between the nose of the diff and the front crossmember keeping the diff nose from moving either up on accel or down on decel.  The mustache bar has poly bushings.  Can you guys watch the attached video link and help me understand what is happening?  I'm new to LSDs.  I put a goPro camera on my gas tank (sorry the fuel pump is so loud) and you can see the passenger side rear wheel, and axle.  You can hear what must be chatter, tire chirp, and the occasional POP which sounds like a loud BANG inside the car.  The maneuver I did to produce the symptoms was a slow turn to the right (it does it when turning to the left too), left-foot braking to keep the speed down and applying throttle to increase torque on the LSD.  The banging seems to occur most often when I let up and straighten the wheel.  The bang usually happens when turning to leaving a 4-way stop, when driving around in a parking lot or when tooling around the paddock at an autocross or drag race.  It generally doesn't bang when in a straight line.  I don't have any clunking when launching at the dragstrip from up to 4000 rpm.  Perhaps this banging is normal and to be expected, but if I have a problem, I'd like to understand it and fix it.  Go to youtube for it so you can watch it full-screen.  All the smart guys please advise!

Edited by RebekahsZ