HybridZ

Returning to the 240z

AydinZ71

Hi all! 

I bought my original 71’ in 2000, when I was 16. I had to sell the car to move across country. Now that I am settled again, I just bought another 71’.

I’m not new to Z’s, but it has been a while. I was a mechanic specializing in Nissan’s back in HS and college. Now I’m an engineer working in the alternative energy industry.

my old Z had an L28et with a T3/T4 and IV Supra intercooler. I did all the work myself, and intend to do so again.

the one I just purchased seems to be an old SCCA racer. It has a fuel cell, complete cage, engine fire suppression system, stripped completely. Seller claims it has an R200 LSD. While I certainly recognize the R200 back there, I’m still suspicious of whether it is an LSD. 

its got the P90A hydraulic head, but still sitting on the L24 block. Must have been necessary to qualify in its class. 

anyways, just wanted to introduce myself! 

79373EB2-7F54-43C0-9FBA-3A49E87D99BA.jpeg

7E974231-2C20-43A9-8B28-8220DE8E975A.jpeg

• Like 1

The previous owner reinstalled brake lights and head lights. I think I’m going to slowly work it into something more for the street. I’m not too focused on comfort since my daily driver is for that. First task is to sand/scrape all the rust and apply converter. Let me know if you have any tips!

eventually looking to put in a more modern fuel injected engine. The car is way beyond stock now, so nothing really holding me back. Thinking about an RB25DET with its 5 speed.

Welcome back to the fold!

Depending on the severity of rust and how you feel about it will be how you go about it. Cutting out and replacing the far gone parts etc. I personally like a needle scaler for areas I am unsure about, if it punctures then it wasn't much good to begin with, if it doesn't it leaves a pretty clean finish to apply what you need to.

I personally like JZ's, but nothing against the RB's. Looks like it will be pretty sweet.