HybridZ

what to do list to install triple carbs???

hiromino

hi. i am going to install triple solex carbs inmy '73 240z. i got manifold, carbs and will get linkage from Top-End performance. I was told that i need to change fuel pump and put fuel pressure regulator. What kind of pumps and regulators are good? my plan is to get both from MSA. or is there cheaper ones? also, is it hard to chage mechanical fuel pump to electrical one? i am not a mechanic and am wondering whether i should give it a try or go to shop before i mess my car.(if i do it, the car has to be done in one weekend, otherwise i won't able to go to work)

thanx

i would go with a holley fuel pressure reg. 30.00

electric fuel pump, holley again, or one of those purolator ones you can get from any car parts places, they work. or you can run the stock fuel pump and put the elec fuel pump in line, but then again what size are your triples? if they are 40s

you probably wont need to change any of that stuff. but i would NOT suggest trying to bolt on the webbers if you are not very mechanically inclined if you rely on it as a daily driver. and do you truly need triples? built motor? its something like an 8hp gain on a cammed motor with more response, a waste of time in my opinion, thats my opinion though. im not trying to discourage you from anything please i hope i dont come off that way, but dont take your ride out of the game for that third carb if you dont need it.

the original round top z carb are much better on the street .when you open 6 carb throats at same time you get NO manifold vacuem.what does it take to draw gas through a carb?manifold vacuem-thats why they stumble until about 4000 rpm.the weber/mikuni 3x2 set ups are really for high rpm only like a scca track car.the oem carbs were of a constant velocity design to keep bogging to a minimum.the 2 oem carbs will flow around 500 cfm.