HybridZ

Engine maxxed at 2k rpm

78 280z with stock engine. It had been sitting for a few years and I just got it running last week for my Velo Rossa project. The muffler is off but the "pre-muffler" is still on.

Anyway - I fires right up and idles great and sounds fine but when you give it gas - it it goes as high as about 1800 - 2000 rpms and hesitates.

I did the usual to get it running, drained oil and gas and put oil in spark plug holes before turning it by hand. Drained and purged old gas and ran new gas through lines before hooking the fuel line back to the fuel rail.

I am not a mechanic and would like some insight as to where to start looking. BTW - compression is fine.

Thanks for any input.

Guest Anonymous

TEO....the old Zs suffer from setting. Take the gas cap off to see if any of the gas tank vent lines are plugged. The car will idle normally but not rev if the gas tank is not vented.

This may sound crazy, but check your distributor to make sure the mechanical and vacuum advances and everything else in there is working. I had very similar problems in my car, acting like it had a rev limiter put on it at 2,500 rpm. It didn't clear up until I replaced the distributor with one from another car.

Probably not the issue, but worth checking.

Myron,

This totally floors me - I don't even have the air filter connected. I took it off when I tore off the front end and I will try to get over the car tomorrow before I jet out of town because I won't be able to sleep redface.gif until I test this.

I did test the gas cap idea and the TPS looked ok.

Thanks a million,

Teo