HybridZ

Please suggest with my three options for Intercooler work&gt

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

(1) Order the pipings and tow the car to a muffler shop and have them weld together.

(2) Order the pipings and rent a welder and do the work myself.

(3) Just tow the car to the muffler shop and have them do all the Intercooler installation work.

I've never used a welder before so I trust the muffler guys work better. The pipings probably cost me about $200. What are your suggestions?

Thanks guys.

Nathan

I you let the muffler shop do it, unless you supply the mandrel bends, you will get crush bent pipe, which is like a 20 % restriction over mandrel.

Do it yourself is cheap, but it is a pain. You know you can by a flux core welder for 200 bucks at home depot right?

What about this option:

Buy all the tubing bends etc, cut it up to the right size and shape and mark the joints with a sharpie (in at least 3 places on each side of each join, each mark with a different number or symbol). Then take all the parts to the exhaust shop to get welded up.

Tim

I'm planning to go with option 1 for my own set up. I already have the hardest part set up, which is a good muffler shop that charges reasonable/cheap rates (hard to find these days). I figure I will get the piping from JC witney or alex costa at precision machines (he is a hybridZ member). I see no reason to have the shop do crush bending only to decrease efficiency and cause more turbulence.

With my non existent welding skills I figure it would take me longer, cost as much or more (getting/renting welder, redoing the work over after ruining the mandrel bent pipe I just bought or only to find a leak in my crummy weld later....)and certainly won't come out as nice as the work from my skilled mufller shop guy.