HybridZ

Installing sub-frame connectors/two different methods

I've about got my 280 stripped to the shell and am getting ready cut out the rusty floors and install sub-frame connectors. I,m not sure if I should install them w/the car sitting level on jackstands or if I can get away w/doing it while on the rotisserie. I'm afraid of sagging if I do it on the spinner but it will be a heck of a lot easier to weld this way. Pete P./Marc Wagner please feel free to chime in.

P.S. The transmission tunnel and rockers are solid but the floor is gone.

Thanks

Not that I am an expert on this subject, (as I want to put a frame in my 280z and have similar questions....) But from what I have learned, the trans tunel and rockers are what carry/handle most of the suport for the car.. if they are good and solid, and the car is stripped to a shell, I don't think it would sag much either way...

Hey, JP.

I spent some time worrying about this question too. In the end I did mine while the car was on the rotisserie. I was careful to strip the car to the absolute bare shell (every last nut, bolt, wire, etc.) to get the maximum amount of weight off the uni-body. I was undecided about leaving the doors on. I wanted to get the weight of the doors off the car, but they do add some rigidity to the chassis when they are on the car (closed, of course :D). In the end, I decided the chassis would remain straight without them and removed them.

I also did only one side at a time, cutting out the rotted floor pan on the passenger side, welding in the subframe connector, welding in the new pan material, etc. Then I moved on to the driver's side. I test fitted the doors when I was done to make sure they would open and closed easily. It's not a scientific test, but I feel confident the chassis remained straight.