HybridZ

Anybody out there running 38mm exhaust valves?

clarkspeed

Does anyone have any experience running a 38mm exhaust valve in a L6 head? I just built up a new head and decided to throw the 38's in there since I needed new valves anyway. I am running a high lift cam which throws them right into the cylinder walls. I know I need to "unschroud" the block to get a fit but it looks like a lot of material to remove. Curious if anyone else has gone through this before.

I've been running L28's with notched blocks for the last 10 years, but I'm not running a larger exhaust valve. I was just doing it for flow around that side of the valve. You can go up to the fire ring line on the headgasket, and I went about 75% of the way from the top ring to the top of the head.

Never had a headgasket problem. I kinda wonder if you might get better flow out of a smaller valve with more room to flow all the way around it though...

Since you "threw in" 38mm valves it implies that your engine had 35mm valves which came only on L24 engines (83mm bore). 38mm valves will crash into the tops of the cylinder walls on an 83mm bore unless you grind reliefs in the block to accommodate them. Nissan did provide a crude relief at the top of the L26 bores to accommodate the 38mm exhaust valves intefacing with the 83mm bore, but L24s didn't have this. I would assume L24E blocks have factory reliefs since they are 83mm bore and 38mm exhaust valves. Anyway, you can create a far better-flowing relief with a grinder creating a rounded relief than the factory does with their industrial/agricultural looking squared-off relief that they flycut into the top of the bore. DAW

You're right and I screwed up by relying on my memory instead of confirming by looking it up. I had a false memory of 35mm L24 and 38mm L28, when it's actually 33mm L24 and 35mm L28.