HybridZ

Turbo on the N/A motor Up and Running *pics*

nienberg.11

It's taken the better part of a year, but my ’77 280z turbo on the N/A project is finally at a stopping point.

Before I get into the details of the project, I have to thank the guys who helped me on it. One of my best friends and Hybridz's own TheSkrich was right there on the opposite side of the engine bay throughout this project, doing everything from wiring to breaking loose the infinite supply of rusted bolts, to providing the entertainment. Also, my dad was a big help, especially when those rusted bolts didn't come out so great and we needed precise drilling and tapping done. My parts supplier, Frankie from Z Performance Racing, provided hours of free phone support which helped immensely as he's done several similar setups. Thanks for everything guys!

I also have to give some background for why I did this project this way and why it took so long. First, I'm a poor college student living 2 hrs away from my tools, garage, etc., so I really have to make the most of what little time and money I can devote to the car. Secondly, my N/A motor runs great and only has 43,000 on it. Finally, the junkyards here in Ohio are few and far between and have almost no old Z's. This makes it basically impossible for me to find a good turbo motor, and even if I did, I would have to hang it from a tree limb to put it in the car because I don't have an engine hoist.

I'll try to list the modifications involved in this project in a logical order...

Exhaust: Garrett T3/T4 .63/.50 Turbo with stage 1 trimmed turbine wheel and water cooled bearings; Modified 280ZXT manifold; external wastegate with 1" stainless pipe going straight to the atmosphere; 2.5" straight-through exhaust piping with a performance glass pack inline with a Magnaflow muffler; '83 zxt downpipe

NewImage.jpg