HybridZ

Need source for Diodes

I thought i'd post this maybe somebody has some sources i'm not aware of.

I'm looking for some diodes that can handle 80 amp continous either alone or combined with 2 or the same, etc. Anyway, it needs to be rated for 15 volts as well. I'm going to solder them inline on my alt to stop the voltage draw it has. Everything I can find is for 120 volt which when you do the math doesn't work out for the appropriate amps at 12-15 volts. Any help would be great as i'm kinda following blind sheep on this one hoping that it works.

-Ed

Ed, you mean “current draw” and not “voltage draw”. As an electrical engineer I am always somewhat irked by the interchange of these different electrical properties by the layman. Anyway, there already are diodes in the alternator that should block any reverse current draw. Yes, there is a secondary sense circuit, but it only draws microamps. If you have a problem with reverse current draw then you have an alternator with “leaky” (or defective) diodes.

Your series diode “fix” is not practical. Such a diode (or diodes) would have to dissipate an estimated 80W (1.0V x 80A) maximum which would require a large heat sink. Besides, you would need a diode rated at least 50V because it is well know that alternators can produce transients of +40V to -40V at the alternator output terminal when the alternator stops rotating (at engine turn off).

Well if you do decide to go this route anyways you could source some of the diodes fron another alternator.

There are six diodes in an alternator as all alternators are a three-phase full-bridge configuration. Having six diodes also allows current sharing so one diode does not have to continuously carry the full current. The six alternator diodes use the case of the alternator as a heat sink.