HybridZ

Newbie LSD tuning questions

rudypoochris

Sorry I am a bit new to anything to do with adjusting the R200 from the 300zxt. Please be patient

1. Does the term breakaway torque refer to how much torque it takes to make a wheel spin if both wheels are free in the air? If so, could one measure this simply by putting a torque wrench on one side and a wrench (used to stop slippage) on the other side?

2. How does gear oil effect the breakaway torque? How does additive effect it? How does special LSD formulated gear oil effect it? Basically I am wondering if a correct measurement can be had when testing the carrier "dry".

3. Can the breakaway be adjusted with out replacing all the shims, disks, or opening the carrier?

4. Do the clutches only really wear if the driver abuses them and does heavy launches, or do they often quickly wear down just from normal/light street driving? On a car driven lightly how long might a set give a reasonable amount of torque, say 75-80% of what it was ment to be.

Thanks, sorry if any of this is a bit novice.

1. Breakaway torque (BT) is the torque required to spin each wheel independently. Its point where the clutch packs start slipping against each other.

2. Not sure how the additive or the lube affects BT but the units I've tested were in the car so the numbers I measured included a lubed up unit.

3. Nope.

4. The clutches wear, period. The rate of wear is determiend by usage. Dragstrip launches are not a big deal. Tight radius corners with a lot of power application are the big wear producers. Autocross is especially hard on clutch pack LSDs and I rebuilt mine about every 18 months.

Most factory installed clutch pack LSDs are worn out by 50,000 miles of street driving. I know the on in my F350 was gone by 40,000 miles and I got Ford to rebuild it under my extended warranty.

Sorry I am a bit new to anything to do with adjusting the R200 from the 300zxt. Please be patient