HybridZ

vg build up, budget project

NorthWestZ31

so in the near future im going to be buying and building a vg33et. this being my first build ill probably need some help, and ive heard alot of good stuff about this page. i want to use some of the bolt on parts off of my current motor which is a vg30e if they are better than the vg33. also does the head on a vg30 flow better than the 33?? i got the head idea from the honda guys who put the b16 head on the b18 for there ls-vtec since the b16 head flows much better then the 18 head they get a pretty good power increase. just wondering if you can do the same with nissan vg motors. and other stuff like that.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's not so much so that the B16 head flows really better than the B18's it's more related to the fact that VTEC will let the engine breath better at high revs.

For the :?: you asked, I can't really help as I have no experience whatsoever with these engines so, I'll let the V6 guys shim in here.

I agree with mtcookson, I learned a lot from that website, but Jason (the owner of that site) says something on there that is very true and contradictory to your goal, there isn't a true ''budget'' way to build this motor and have it be reliable. the way he put it, I believe, is ''if you want to just buy a lot of parts to make it fast, sell it and buy a honda.'' you have to plan, pay, and search to make a strong motor out of the vg motors. there will always be cheaper options, but that route won't be as reliable as spending the money the first time around. good luck on your build.