HybridZ

Quick Brake Question

Ok I am doing a brake upgrade. AZC both front and rears. 12.2 inch with 4 piston wilwoods. Also installing the adjustable wilwood proportioning valve inside the cockpit.

My question is do I also retain the 71z oem rear brake proportioning valve?

In other words...The rear brake line from the 79-81zx master cylinder....to the adjustable wilwood valve....then to the 71z oem bias valve....to the "T" fitting....from the "T" to the calipers. Correct?

Sorry for breaking this down so direct but I just want to get it right, the first time. Daves online installation instructions are not to clear in this area.

Again thanks everyone!

Brian

No? Ok could someone explain that in more detail?? anyone? I am not a expert at this stuff and could use some help.

Here is how the azc reads:

Here's a typical installation of the adjustable proportioning valve along with the hydraulic line lock for the parking brake function. The stock proportioning valve has been retained and the rear brake line has been brought from it along side the trans tunnel to the new valves and then out through the floor to the splitter over differential.

http://www.arizonazcar.com/rearz4luginstall.html

If I am reading this correctly, you are using an adjustable proportioning valve, the purpose of which is to replace the OEM valve with an adjustable valve. I believe the general thought is that using two proportioning valves in series is NOT recommended.

Here's a typical installation of the adjustable proportioning valve along with the hydraulic line lock for the parking brake function.

Personally, I think it is unwise to recommend a line lock to replace the emergency brake. Even the slightest of leak will result in a very rapid pressure loss (incompressible fluids), resulting in no "emergency brake".