HybridZ

Mikuni Bog...Got Data, Need Some Analysis

fp280z

I don't know if this is too much data (I'm an engineer, can there ever be too much?) but I was hoping someone could assist me in honing in on the root cause of my issue and I always enjoy the threads that have a lot of data to go along with the HybridZ troubleshooting!

Ok here's the deal, the SCCA Solo National Championships are less than two weeks away, I spent all last week thrashing to install my new Stahl header and fabbing up an exhaust for it, dyno'd on Saturday and got some decent numbers up top but I seem to have introduced (or exacerbated) a bad bog between around 2250rpm to about 3250rpm. This is a terrible place for a flat spot on an autocross car.

Obviously, eliminating the bog is my goal but even reducing before next week it would help tremendously. Attached is the dyno chart from Saturday and a chart from April that is pre-exhaust work, the only major change between the runs. As you can see, the exhaust work really woke up the motor above 3250rpm!

These dyno runs were performed starting with a load at WOT at 1800rpm then then removing the load and allowing the car to accelerate the drums, at least that's how I understand the basic concept. I only mention this because this method takes most of the mechanical action of the carburetors out of the loop (in other words, this is probably not an acc pump issue, progression drillings, etc.)

Also plotted on the dyno charts is the AFR for each run. I tuned the jets so that the target of ~12.9 hit just over 5350rpm and the upper AFR "step" in the midrange was a little leaner than that but not dangerously so. Based on my understanding of the carbs (I have read the Mikuni manual and several Weber books) that seemed like a logical tuning plan. If I'm way off base here, please educate me. Maybe the "step" is a clue?