HybridZ

new to welding

V8_DatZun

Im new to welding and just attempted a few test welds. For some reason I cannot get my settings correct. I get alot of little splatter welds, and can not get a good bead started. I know practice makes perfect, but a few hints never hurt eiter :) any help you guys can provide is appreciated! Here are a few pics when I welded in my patch to the transmission tunnel shifter hole. Its strong, but as you can see alot of splatter. The welder is a clarke hot shot mig, no shielding gas but flux wire .035".

http://us.share.geocities.com/turb022/Picture003.jpg

http://us.share.geocities.com/turb022/Picture005.jpg

http://us.share.geocities.com/turb022/Picture007.jpg

http://us.share.geocities.com/turb022/Picture008.jpg

I'm no pro by any means (basically self taught) but it looks like you need a LOT more penetration. Likewise, turn your feed speed up. Not familiar with your welder model. How many amps and volts?

It looks like you are sitting on a spot to build heat up but you're just adding material on top of the "weld". Get the amps turned up to quickly liquify your work metal and then turn your feed speed up (afterwards, if needed) to keep up with the hotter weld process.

Also, get your torch right down on it and "zig-zag" back and forth across the seam repeatedly.

If I turn it up it burns a hole in the material. Maybe I just need to move faster. I've never welded before. I know its going to take a little while to get use to, and maybe that IS my problem im just not going fast enough and the welder isnt turned up high enough. Thanks for the replies any other info would be appreciated. Thanks for the tips wizardblack I'll try that in a few minutes. Also do i need to grind down what i have and try to reweld to ensure it holds? or try tapping it with a hammer to ensure it holds?

I am also by no means qualified to teach anybody but I was recently in this boat so I thought I'd throw in my 2 cents.