HybridZ

RB26 oil pickup problems!

ktown z

Well I tried to purchase the z31 oil pickup with rear sump pan for my RB26 build with no luck. I was able to get the oil pan with no problems but it seems that the pick up is discontinued and not in stock anywhere. None of the shops in my area will make me a pickup to fit the pan so I'm stuck.

Here is what I am willing to do. If anyone can make me an oil pickup that fits the RB26dett with the rear sump pan I will paypal you 400.00 U.S. dollars. As you can tell I am fishing for an answer to my problem.

Thanks,

James

FWIW you don't really need the Z31 pick-up it won't fit properly on the RB26 with the rear sump pan anyways. All you need is the 26 pickup and some carefully bent steel tubing. I did it with copper tubing but I would suggest steel instead. Sweating copper to steel is a bitch (different fusion points).

I have no experience or the ability to weld. All the shops in this area want the motor in their shop to do the work. I want to put the motor in myself so that is the reason I need someone to make me a pickup. If anyone is interested in making one for some money (name your price) and hopefully we can work out a deal.

I think your best bet would be to just do a external pick up. I did it that way on my alum pan, but this can also work with a fitting on the stamped steel pan.

Get yourself a fitting welded onto your oil pump and run a line to the fitting on the rear bottom of your steel pan and your done.

I think if I had it to do over, I'd have used the pan you have, instead of going through all the trouble with the alum pan. The steel pan has a nice deep bowl, and would work just fine to me...

Take a look here for some ideas>> http://forums.hybridz.org/showthread.php?t=101321