HybridZ

Holset turbo warning... Please discuss

gearheadstik

Hey guys, I just wanted to put something out there to be discussed and forewarn if your thinking of going the same route I did. I have been running a holset for a few years now and first thought it was a great thing... Now I'm starting to feel I should have saved up and bought a better built turbo. I just started going through my motor after letting it sit for a few months and have noticed all kinds of play in the shaft on the holset... I had just rebuilt it before last DNI. I raced that race and a few times at the track afterwords. I drove my car daily pushing 20psi when I was getting on it but not even a thousand miles. The problem is this was my second time doing a rebuild without putting any real mileage on it. I have read Big-Phil saying pretty much the same thing and at 70 dollars or so a rebuild and 400 plus a turbo if anything starts rubbing, I think I would have done better buying a water cooled ball bearing turbo?... I do not have a abundance of experience with turbos but think it must be heat and speed that we are sending through these units. I have run fully synthetic oil. The holset did a great job as far as boost and spool time, I loved it but cant be rebuilding every oil change.I'm just trying to save people like myself the heartache...Please discuss

Big-Phil

on my first hy35 from an 06 dodge running 20-25lbs boost and had the oil pump set a bit higher than stock oil psi the turbo started smoking after about a year, so rebuilt it lowered the oil psi back to stock put it back in. Installed turbo timer, set at 3min at every shutdown holset started smoking again after about 4 months. Bought hy35 #2 running 25lbs boost, stock oil psi, 3min cool down at shutdown, turbo started smoking again after about 3-4 months! Rebuilt this one and now only run 10lbs boost.