HybridZ

SU Out of tune??

Hey Everyone,

My early 260z spent the winter in the garage. Now its 3 screw SU's are out of tune I think. I say that because the front 3 cylinders are firing normally, while the back 3 don't fire at all. I took off the air filters and started the engine. I noticed a hissing noise which seems to be coming from the rear carb's throat. Also I noticed the rear carb's piston is much higher than the front.

The Engine surges from a near stall to and what I estimate from sound to be 3-4k.

Are my carbs that badly out of tune or is there a vaccum leak( i checked most hoses with propane torch and didn't find anything) or what?

O and it idles at like 2-3k depending on how I adjust the rear carb.

Also I can push up the piston on the rear carb and the rpms will change. That means that there are cylinders firing on that carb right? But when I pull the plug wires I don't hear rpm drops.

Partially covering the rear carb with my hand makes the rpms climb.

im no expert on su's but first is the car running way rich? if the piston is up then im pretty sure the rear half of the motor is going to be running extreamly rich in comparison to the front half. make sure the piston falls all the way to the bottom and isn't being hung up. good luck

Hey Everyone,

My early 260z spent the winter in the garage. Now its 3 screw SU's are out of tune I think. I say that because the front 3 cylinders are firing normally, while the back 3 don't fire at all. I took off the air filters and started the engine. I noticed a hissing noise which seems to be coming from the rear carb's throat. Also I noticed the rear carb's piston is much higher than the front.

The Engine surges from a near stall to and what I estimate from sound to be 3-4k.

Are my carbs that badly out of tune or is there a vaccum leak( i checked most hoses with propane torch and didn't find anything) or what?