HybridZ

Flux core... should I just give up now??

z2go

So, I'm trying to experiment with the welder I have... the only work I need it for is to weld in new floor pans, patch the dog legs, and fix the rear upper sill. The welder I have has an adjustable wire feed, but a series of buttons to adjust the power... it reminds me of the buttons on a blender, with a high/low and three variations within each high/low.

I started practicing on some 22ga sheet metal, with .030 flux core on the lowest power setting... it seems to blast right through the metal very easily, along with warping, splattering, and what-not. When playing with the settings, I only got more disastrous results. I was able to shoot a few spots that stuck, when going very quickly...

So, question time... should I give up trying to use the flux core and invest in some gas to use with the .023 for this thin stuff, or is there something I can do to improve my results with flux core? What do you guys recommend for getting the flux core to work with what I need to do?

it would help if I knew which welder you had and the amp and wire speeds available

this is one good example of why some of the less expensive welders tend to be a bad value, dropping to the .023 wire should help, but its not a cure in all cases, 22 ga sheet steel is too thin for .030 wire in most cases, your normally SCREWED when the wires thicker than the sheet steel your welding, and 22 ga is.0253 thick

you NEED,two infinitely adjustable a dials that can finely adjust the welder amps, from zero to the max rated amps and infinitely adjustable wire speed, from dead slow to fast

having preset amps & speeds works great if those amps & speeds fall close to what you need and slight adjustments in technique can compensate, if not your basically fighting a loosing fight, and your skill won,t compensate

http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/calculator.htm

http://www.engineersedge.com/gauge.htm

Edited by grumpyvette