HybridZ

Need help on sanding down my paint

Keepn it OG

I just bought 400 grit of sand paper and a block to hold it in place. So i started sanding it down while doing the cross movement. My paint is really bad and a whole lot of chips and cracks. It seems like the old paint is so rough and hard to smooth it down with 400 grit. Should i get a stronger grit to smooth it down or will it take off all the paint to the bare metal. Or should i just sand it down a bit and just spray primer on it ?

I'm trying to primer it at this time till i get enough money to pay for a paint job. Please help ! I am a rookie at this stuff so i don't know what i'm doing. The only information i'm getting is from youtube.

Chris

Block sanding with 400 grit paper then priming the car is not the only steps you will need. The cars that you see in primer that you like are ones that are straight and ready for paint. Priming a dented and rusty car will only make the car look worse imo. Maybe your car is clean excluding the chips and cracks in the paint but if not I would advise fixing ALL problem areas.

If you plan on doing any sort of decent paint job I would take it down to bare metal, especially if the paint is cracking and chipping off.

What he said. I used a 60 grit flapper disk with my angle grinder to get mine down to bare metal, or you could do a chemical strip...(paint remover). You would be shocked to see how much rust (if any) is hidden under your paint................ :blink:

Edited by Blown77Z

Thanks guys for helping a newbie out. Yeah the paint is really bad and the car does have dents and some rust. I believe i might just take it down to the bare metal then fix the dents and primer it right after. I really don't want a shi*#y job, plus i love my car. There's nothing better than a little TLC with your love.

I have one question though, how can i get rid of minor rust ? Should i shave it down then primer it ?

It's definitely the best way to go.