HybridZ

Max Boost

Vonlam43

Ok for starters I have a 77 280z 2+2 with n47/n42 combo fresh motor with a stage 3 schneider cam. I have everything to put a turbo on and was wondering what the max amount of boost I would be able to run on the stock injectors with an intercooler. I have been searching for about 2 days now and to no avail havent found anything. Some help would be much appreciated or pointed in the right direction thank you.

I'm no expert but I don't think that you have a good blend of parts for a well-functioning turbo engine. The stock EFI won't handle a turbo very well, and the Stage 3 cam is an NA cam, for example. The stock injectors won't supply enough fuel unless you crank up the fuel pressure, which will make everything rich off-boost. It would probably never run right.

This thread is worth reading - http://forums.hybridz.org/index.php/topic/50208-the-ultimate-l28et-guidewhat-you-need-for-350whp/

What do you mean everything to put a turbo on?

Your biggest mechanical factor is the injectors. Like NewZed said you'd have to ramp up the pressure, and that will never make it run right.

But you could maybe get away with 5-7psi with it like that. Don't know how long it would last though.

I shouldn't say stage 3 its a cam i pulled out of my parts car and had it reground it has very minimal overlap. Thank you NewZed that was a great article that really shed some light on my subject right now it looks like the weakest link in my going in setup will be the injectors and fuel pump but it will give me some room to play with and grow.

You are using stock dished pistons, right?

First, I would install a stock P79 or P90 head on your current block. This will lower the compression to 7.4:1 cr and give engine a better turbo cam.

At least put in a stock NA cam. You can turbo charge the stock 8.3:1 cr setup (N42/N47) but ignition timing will need to be lower.

Then find a stock t3 turbo with wastgate, j-pipe, downpipe, exhaust manifold, and turbo oil pan.