HybridZ

Can't get trans into gear

luseboy

Been a while since I've posted on here.  I've been resto-modding a '73 z for the past 2 1/2 years, and have had pretty slow progress up until recently.  Yesterday I "dropped" my engine and trans in (bolted the bell housing to the block out of the car and dropped them in together), aside from switching around the motor mount brackets, it went in without a hitch (the second time anyways).  I went with your typical F54 block/P79 head, and 280z (or as some of you know it, A) 5 speed.  Both have been taken apart partially and cleaned up/put back together with new gaskets (not professionally, I did it myself with the help of this forum and others).  When I got the trans it was somewhat seized and wouldn't shift into any of the gears but after cleaning it up and what not it seemed to be functioning just fine.  It has sat without any fluid or any input shaft rotation for about a year now, and after installing it I put my shifter back on, but found that it would not engage any of the gears except for reverse (or could be 4th, hard to tell).  What I'm wondering is if this sounds like a problem (maybe I re-installed the rear case wrong and messed up the forks?), or if it's more likely to be just a matter of everything being bone dry and the trans having sat for so long (don't know when it was last used in a car, I bought it on it's own from craigslist). Any insight? I know there's no way to say for sure, but I should be able to get my engine up and running soon enough so hopefully I'll have a better idea then.  

Appreciate any insight.

Thanks!

-Austin

Edited by luseboy

Hey Austin, glad to see your Z is almost ready for paint!

Hmm, what do you mean you re-installed the rear case wrong? Did you have the transmission apart and were inspecting the gear set?