HybridZ

4bbl L28

Guest Anonymous

There is a thread about this already, I have seen it in the past couple days.

But to answer your question, most people run a holley 390 CFM 4 barrell, and this is not the best way to go. SU's are a better choice.

If you want a manifold, I have a friend who has two in his shop he would like to get rid of.

Guest Zcarsmakemyheadhurt

I've seen a few L6's with this set up that work. Correct cam selection and proper head/manifold porting make it work.

I bought a '73 rust bucket recently and it has that set up. I don't know anything about it, but someone who does told me it's crap. I have no experience with it, but I don't know why it wouldn't work well. If you'd like more information, I can post some info from the intake.

George

Rust Technician

Guest thepenguin99

I think the reason it doesn't work to well is the 90 degree bend right below the carb. The same holds true for weber DGVs. Keep in mind I have no experience with either of these carbs.

I like the 4brl on a Clifford 6=8 intake. Better on the street and makes better torque than the 6 pack. It will work on the boost also.

Guest JAMIE T

You could weld some injector bungs to it and use a carb style throttle body for a decent EFI set-up. Or if nitrous was you bag, it would be nice, since you can stack plates for multiple stages :twisted: under a carb.

i have the 4bbl manafold on my 71 but i got the one that hooks up right to the su intakes and it also has a 75 shot of nitrous on it,plate under the carb.

this set up runs great and i have never had problems with it,and its very easy to tune.

Guest DaneL24

I don't think using the 4bbl on the L28 is a very good idea. Flow and fuel distribution will be a problem.