HybridZ

Time for a V8

Guest Hudson's Hawk

Guest Hudson's Hawk

Hey guys,

It's Hudson Hawk. Looking to do a V8 on the "Purple People" Eater in the next year. Gathering all my info from JTR, Engine Performance, Dando's, Roebello's Racing etc...Got to make the right decision to add to the work of art know as the Tomahawk. I'm leaning towards a Ford Cleveland or Windsor 1st then, Chevy Corvette or Mustang engine....I know that there are more Chevy Conversions then Ford, but, the Ford Engine allows you to move it closer to the fire wall. Chevy's you have to loose that extra space and deal with the hood latch..I'm just getting into the research but, I'm curious to know if anyone with a Ford & Chevy converted Z race each other.....Who won?...LOL Apples to Apples...

Any responses will be appreciated..

ThanksDCP_0251rw1.jpg

Your Z is so modern looking, i think the late Ford 4.6l would look fantastic in your engine bay! Its OHC, each cam with a timing chain. The spark plugs and injectors both go in from the top of the engine. I saw a cutaway at Route 66 Rendezvous 4 day car show in San Bernardino last weekend. Im not a v8 fan, but this engine is a fabulous peice of work! Its just simple! You must be interested in looks, considering the condition of your Z. Ever since i saw the cutaway of the 4.6 at the car show, ive been DYING to see one in a Z! This coming from a guy who prefers Chevy over Ford!

Ford Mustang GT 4.6 Liter

"Modular" single overhead cam engine

engine.jpgV832Valve.jpg

Chevrolet Corvette 5.7 Liter

ls1.jpg

Ford Mustang SVT Cobra 4.6 Liter

"Modular" dual overhead cam engine

cobra.jpg

Guest Hudson's Hawk