HybridZ

LS1 build up

Guest ac260z

Guest ac260z

This may be kind of a novice question, but since I am still a novice I figured what the hell. with all of the info on the board about the LS1 vsLT1 I am neing swayed towards the LS1. To get this motor to produce net rwhp of 375 or so and torque of equal or greater numbers what would have to be done to it. Since I am looking to buy a donor vehicle for this swap can I get the power realatively easily or would it need a complete rebuild with a lot of aftermarket parts? Is a donor vehicle necessary or can a EFI swap be done without one?

I can tell you that it is very easy to get 374 to 400 rwhp from an LS1 setup using stock heads. You will need a good set of headers and a free flowing exhaust, an aftermarket cam of 224 to 230 duration (Thunder racing has some nice setups with dyno sheets) with matching valvesprings and retainers, hardened pushrods, an LS6 intake, and some tuning. Optional would be a ported TB, Smaller crank pully, kaytec chain set, ported oil pump. Same setup with aftermarket heads can pull 425 to 450.

First of all - go to http://www.LS1tech.com and ask the same question. The LS6 intake and a good set of heads with an oversize throttle body and good exhaust will pretty much get yo what you want. My car is runny 365 HP and 325 TQ at the flywheel - essentially stock except for K & N and headers - and not very good headers. If you get a 2001/2002 LS1 - it comes with the LS6 intake.

If you read a previous posting by Savage42, the experts on the LS1 do not recommend porting the throttle body - just go ahead and buy an 85mm one.

DaleMX,

Sorry guy - didn't intend the "go to LS1tech.com" for you. It was meant as a friendly suggetion for ac260Z to have a source to get a lot more info on the engine. You're obviously versed on the engine.