HybridZ

A little different....82 'vette rear on 78 280z

rytherwr

I thought the same thing about a later rear at first, but the later model turned out to be too boxy and doesn't lend itself to the contours of the rear quarters. As you can see, the fiberglass Z rear quarters can be conformed to the outside contours of the vette rear. The pictures you see with the exhaust holes in the valance show the rear as it is attached on sides, top and bottom. Never seen one before so thought I'd try it. Now that you mention it tannji, you're right. At first glance, it looks like the Maverick. When you see the whole car with the G-nose front and cowl induction hood, it brings a different perspective. Wayne

Guest iskone

I've been thinkning about doing that for several months, I liked the idea because it would elimante the need for a rear bumper.

You got to keep us updated with this :D

How much wider is the Vette' bumper than the Z rear?

Well now that I look at it closer I was thinking I would use a 75'-79' rear bumper.

That looks really good. I am looking for something to do with the rear end because with the wide body kit i have it makes it look odd, too bland or something. Does that rear end come off just like in 1 peice? It looks like a fiberglass replica. Looks like i might have to take a trip to a junkyard soon.

Hey, glad it piques some interest. Ikone, it is 1 5/8 in wider on each side than a 78 280z at its widest point. Datsunboy77, it is a reproduction piece out of an Ecklers 2004 spring/summer catalog, no. 204. They have most any vette fiberglass piece part you could want as well as a lot of other stuff too. I chose the 82 over the older models because of the built in spoiler. For the wide-body kit, a more boxy look might be a better fit such as a gen IV or V. For sure, it brings a different look to the rear and is not too difficult to manage. Go for it! :burnout:

Guest iskone