HybridZ

S20 Motor Or Cross Flow ?????

Guest Jim226

Hi everyone i'm kinda new to the forms but not to the z world....my dad is the one who got me into them owning about 15 throughout his life, now the "z bug" has bit me. I know that all U.S. Z'S came with the OHC L-6 but i was wondering if any1 knows if there are any places online that you can get a S20 DOHC L-6 or the cross flow motor i know these are the holy grails of engines but any japanese websited that might have these motors would be great.

Jim,

Don't mean to be a dream destroyer, but.....for the price you could buy an S20 for, if you could find one, you could probably do a complete RB26 swap. No joke. Even then, there's no way you could find all the extra stuff needed for that engine. If you're dead set on this, your best bet is to keep your eye on the Japan Yahoo Auction.Good luck

I can confirm from personal experience what Matt and Tony have told you. S20 ownership - even in Japan - is not for the faint hearted.

I have two engines; one at home in the UK and one still in Japan. I'm using the best parts from both to make one good one, but the rebuild parts alone have been costing me a small fortune.

Photos here: http://www.classiczcars.com/photopost/showgallery.php?cat=3069

There's a lot of baggage that comes with an S20 swap, such as the need for a different front crossmember and the correct trans to bolt up to it. There does not seem to be much point in embarking on this conversion unless you carry it out with an eye to a certain amount of period detail and period flavour. The S20 is not a big power engine, and I keep telling people that my project car ( a fairly period-correct 432R replica ) is all about just that - flavour.