HybridZ

Compression too high?

burntz

Hi guys. NewB here. I did some searching but couldn't find anything relevant. I hope someone can help me.

I'm building a L28 with the flat top pistions, the pistons protrude above the block deck by .022. The head I'm using is a N42 that has been shaved a bit. Combustion chamber CC's average 38.6. Now if I use a Felpro gasket and a .020 head shim my compression comes to about 11:1. All the engine builders here in my area are V-8 guys and don't have a clue when I say Nissan. Am I asking for trouble with this compression ratio? The car won't be a daily driver, more of a taking her out on the weekend weather permitting or going to a car show. I do intend on using a MSD ignition and either a stage II or stage III cam. The engine will be carbed by SU's.

Thanks in advance.

11:1 is fine. Ive been running it on my daily driver for about 9 months now. Its a stock short block with flat tops and Ive got a Maxima N47 on it, by my calculations its good for about 11:1. It has 40cc combustion chambers and a felpro gasket. I run premium gas on it and have no problems, except with the stock injection system. I get ping ONLY after the AFM maxes out at 3.5K RPM, otherwise, I couls stick it in 5th at 20mph, floor it and not get ping. It makes for a lively motor!

A bigger cam will let you run more compression, as will a better chamber design. F54 with flat tops and an N42 is about 10.5:1 and several people have complained about pinging. My L28/E31 with about 11:1 requires 95 octane. I'm sure Isk's HUGE cam helps him run pump gas, but IIRC he was having some pinging issues too. I think as a general rule Ed is right. 10.5:1 seems to be about the limit of pump gas, and is really pushing the limit in places like CA where 91 octane crap is the best we can get from the pump.

O.K. so let me see if I've got all this correctly.

With 11:1 compression I will need to:

1. Run 95 octane or better

2. Use a 160 degree thermostat