HybridZ

What all is useful off a nissan 240sx?

Guest 73Turbo240z

Guest 73Turbo240z

I've got a chance to score some parts off a complete early 90's 240sx, i'm already grabbing the throttle bodie and a few inches of wire/plug from it... what else would be good to grab from this car? i'm still learning the ropes on what all is swappable/intercompatible.

Guest 73Turbo240z

anyone have info on what it takes to bolt up that 5 speed gearbox? i wouldn't mind having a 5th gear...

also whats the deal w/ the rear brakes, the stockers are drums, so i know it's not a bolt on and go affair... must need some special brackets fabbed or somthing...

Guest 73Turbo240z
do a search in the drivetrain section, myself and at least one other person have written about what we did to make the swap

did so, got news about a guy in california machining bell housings from a Z to fit a 240sx 5spd... $100 + $225 machining + another $100 at least each way for shipping to and from texas, that's $500 into a freaking KA trans... which at that rate makes hunting down a turbo t5 cheaper, easier, quicker.

Well I work in a machine shop, and I did my own. :) Although for swaping a bearing, milling a bit out of the back side (of bellhousing) and drilling out a shift rod hole.. $225 seams a bit steap.. It's in the car, but I'm not on the road yet so I can't give any feedback as to how well it works.

did so, got news about a guy in california machining bell housings from a Z to fit a 240sx 5spd... $100 + $225 machining + another $100 at least each way for shipping to and from texas, that's $500 into a freaking KA trans... which at that rate makes hunting down a turbo t5 cheaper, easier, quicker.

There are plenty of junkyards in houston where there are always a few z cars to pull tranny's from, If you would be happy with a 280zx transmission... bolt on and go for ~$60

-Oliver