HybridZ

spot welding shaving emblems and everything else

Guest SBC_240z

Guest SBC_240z

hey guys,

well, i must admist, welding 1/8" steel is MUCH EASIER then welding anything less then 24 gauge.

Check out the welds guys and tell me how i might be able to improve. Running a Lincoln HD MIG and it seems to just blow through panels real quick. I don't understand, i have wire speed up to full blast, with a low power level.

As you might have guessed, i am a noob when it comes to welding, atleast i am trying and learning every step of the way. So help a new welder out.

Pictures below are of the steel cutouts for the shaving being taped so i can weld it and it be flush.

ef47378d.jpg

ef4737c5.jpg

ef47386c.jpg

ef473837.jpg

So like i said, any advice would be GREAT !!! I NEED ALL THE HELP I CAN GET.

EDIT: Yes, I am using flux

I'm pretty new at the welding game, only been working on thick steel really, body work yet to come. However this bit:

"i have wire speed up to full blast"

stands out, you should adjust the wire speed to suit the job - granted it may be in this case that full speed is the appropriate speed. Have you done any practice beads on bits of scrap metal of the same gauge so you can get the power and speed settings just right?

What gauge metal are you using? 24 sounds very thin, like I said though I haven't got to body work yet so I may be in for some fun myself!

Another thing is that you're doing butt welds which are pretty much the hardest as there isn't the metal around to soak up the heat and so blow through is difficult to avoid, however in the places you're working on I don't think it'd be possible to do a joggled overlap join.

Finally, as I suspect you know, flux core wire doesn't produce the nicest welds to start with, and it burns hotter so more chance of burn through.

Ideally you want to be running with gas, thin wire - 0.6mm/0.023" - and practice a bunch on scrap.

Cheers,

Rob

Guest SBC_240z